DoodleKisses.com

Labradoodle & Goldendoodle Forum

My husband is near death, in hospice in our home. i think Chloe is picking up on my sadness, and seems depressed herself. She turned one, and used to be full of life. She won't even play at the dog park but just sits with me. Anyone have any experience with this?

Views: 1303

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I am so very sorry to hear about your husband . I have no personal experience with this but I have no doubt your dog picks up on and is affected by your sadness. For now you two share a sad reality and I don't think you can change that. At least Chloe and you can help each other through this time.

Unfortunately I do. I live at home and we have a family great pyrenees, Bella. My mom was diagnosed with cancer last May and passed away at the beginning of January. Bella and my mom were very close and my mom, too, spent the final months of her life at home with us. I definitely noticed a change in Bella in the final days of my mom's life and beyond. The good news is that she seems to be improving slowly and will play with Ragley and I, but she is still not the same. I am so sorry to hear about your husband. Prayers for you and your family. There is almost nothing more heartbreaking than witnessing the sorrow in an animal.

Stephanie, I have never experienced anything like this. It is heart wrenching to watch someone you love so deeply suffer so greatly. I am sorry about your mom. I'm sure you have peace knowing that you were by her side for the duration of her illness. I'm glad to hear that Bella is starting to come around. I hope she comes full circle. Thank you for shating your experience.

I am very sorry to hear of your mother's passing Stephanie.  Hugs to you.

I'm so sorry to hear about your mother, Stephanie. I'm sure it was a blessing that she could spend her final days with you and Bella.  Hugs to you both.