DoodleKisses.com

Labradoodle & Goldendoodle Forum

My first Australian Labradoodle so I am a newbie. Izzy has a switch that she turns on - any time day or night (usually at night) whereby she instantly turns aggressive, crazy wild running around, biting badly, jumping up to tear clothes - she is so fast we cannot catch her but when we do she instantly goes into her gated "octagon". (Time out area) There is no way to calm her except by doing this. Is this normal???

A little background - just my husband and myself in the home (other than a housekeeper) - just Izzy and myself during the day. I provide her with chew toys, toys, trips outside as often as she wants. HOW could she be overstimulated?

Views: 347

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

It doesn't sound like she's overstimulated, it sounds like she needs more exercise & mental stimulation, and more structured physical activity than just "trips outside." A tired doodle is a good doodle. She needs to run. Puppies have a LOT of energy that they need to burn off.   Training sessions can be good exercise for both body and mind. 

Izzy had to forgo her 12 week shots due to a scare with her health - she is on Vitamin K for 28 days - so she is not allowed out of my yard. She had to forgo her "puppy socialization" classes as well until she has had her shots. This behavior started long before the confinement.

Any suggestions for "mental" stimulation other than the time I spend training her to sit, come ... Kong toys I teach her to use, a toy tunnel, large boxes to tunnel through, a plastic pool until she can swim in the large pool, sprinklers of varying heights I've set up.....?? Trips outside running after string toys, running through azalea beds that stretch for half a mile ....?? (Not all of the above on the same day - don't panic)

LOL, it does sound like she is getting good mental stimulation. Maybe these wild bursts of energy do occur when she is just overtired.