DoodleKisses.com

Labradoodle & Goldendoodle Forum

Wow, I’m new to the web-site and hoping to get some support.  I posted a question about the normal size of a doodle and got not one response.  2 hours later someone posted about the normal size of a mini and got several responses. Is there something I’m missing in terms of being a welcomed member? 

Can I ask again,, does anyone have a doodle over 70 pounds? Do they exist? I am looking for bigger the better and am finding a lot in the 50-60 pound range. Do I stop my search or are there larger standards out there, I just haven’t found the right Breeder. 

Views: 491

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

We have a 12 week old that was 20.5 lbs at 11 .5 weeks. I am assuming he will be 65-70 lbs. based on the rate of growth we have seen so far. But it would be great if he is smaller. 

There are lots and lots of people here with doodles over 70 lbs. Check out the Heavyweights Group. 

I had one who was 82 lbs. 

But you mostly find that the bigger doodles are F1s, where one of the parents is a Retriever (which are always, always heavier boned than any Poodle)  and nowadays, many if not most reputable breeders have gone to higher generations, partly for the lower risk of shedding and partly because the demand seems to be for smaller dogs. 

Yes, I am at a loss to find a breeder

That mini doodle post was started back in January. Sometimes it takes a little while for someone with the right experiences to come along and respond to it. It's nothing personal. 

I think there are a lot of really big doodles out there, sometimes their size is a surprise to everyone. If you're looking for the big one, I feel like the boys often grow larger than the girls. 

The most important thing to me in a puppy would be researching the breeder. Make sure that they do all the appropriate health testing and really breeding responsibly. The size thing always seems to work itself out in the end.

Thank you!

Zack is 100 pounds