DoodleKisses.com

Labradoodle & Goldendoodle Forum

Hi Everyone! I'm still learning how to navigate around Doodle Kisses, so please forgive me if this is in the wrong spot!

I would love to hear from anyone who has experience with "temperament testing" puppies. The breeder we have chosen for our new puppy does not allow the family to choose their own puppy, but they choose for you based on the looks you specify and the temperament testing scores of the puppy. 

This makes me nervous in a way, but there are other aspects of this process that seem positive to me.

I am super anxious to see if they will choose one of the puppies we have fallen in love with from the litter.

Please share your knowledge and experience with this!

Thanks!

Views: 654

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Assuming you have a good breeder, he/she will know those puppies better than you can know them by going to visit and pick them that way.  You want the breeder's opinion (coupled with testing results) to direct you rather than your feelings because if you have strong desires for a certain personality that is the best way to get it.

Ditto, except I would not want to be told I have NO input on choosing my pup and I probably wouldn't go with that breeder - I am just ornery enough that I want some say in the process because the pup will be MINE for the next 12 - 15 years and not the breeder's.  I think choosing is part of the bonding process, however, I would probably choose the pup the breeder suggested, so.....

Thanks for your input. I really do want to know about the pups personality and make sure we get one who will be a great fit for our family. We do get weekly updated pictures and each week we send an email telling them which puppies are our favorites. We also sent a detailed description of our family life and what we are looking for in terms of personality and looks.