DoodleKisses.com

Labradoodle & Goldendoodle Forum

I know there have been many discussions on this
particular topic, but I just wanted to share my recent story.  I had my
first ever conversation with a doodle-disliker today.

I ran to Walmart today -- I know, I don't like it much either, but I'm a student on a budget :) -- to get some things and, like always, had to visit the pet section to check out some toys for Albus.  I got him three squeaky toys.  As I was getting my stuff checked out by the cashier, she noticed I had the dog toys and asked what kind of dog I had.  I told her I had a goldendoodle, and her disgusted response was, "It's a shame to spend a lot of money on a mixed breed dog like that."

Umm....excuse me?  I was flabbergasted.  Just the way she said it was snotty.  It was like she was trying to make me feel guilty, but I certainly don't remember asking for her opinion about my choice of dog.  I had to bite my tongue really hard so I wouldn't let the F-bomb fly or really let her have it.  I simply replied, "He's worth every penny I paid for him, and I wouldn't trade him for anything."  It was hard to hold back, but I really didn't feel like getting into a debate with the ignorant woman.  Clearly she's just uninformed and biased.  I wish I could have thought of something "mouthier" to say, but I really was at a loss for words.

What would you have said in this situation?  Would you have handled it differently than I did?  I'd like to know for next time, so I can have more things to say :)

Views: 546

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Your reply, "and it's a shame the world is filled with idiots like you". I probably wouldn't really say it but it's what I would be thinking. The correct response would be, every dog is a mxed breed of one type or another. If you have the nerve you can look at her and say " there is a village somewhere missing it's idiot and now I've found her".